Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Cant launch the game / HL2.exe crash

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Cant launch the game / HL2.exe crash

    Ok so i know this is gonna sound very noobish, and i apologize if theres already a thread for this, but I cant launch the game in steam. I bought half-life 2 and downloaded the installer for the hidden. It shows up on my steam account, but when i go to click play it wont launch the game. Can someone please help me out here.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    328

    Default

    You need Source SDK Base 2006 installed.

    Added by Paegus on 17 June 2013:
    Make sure you can run the Source SDK Base 2006 > Video Stress Test, which can be found under the Tools section of your Steam client or by clicking that link...

    If you cannot run that please try this or contact Steam support for help. We cannot assist further and making a new thread about it will net you a link to this Sticky thread.

    If you can run the Source SDK Base 2006 then:

    Try adding -autoconfig to the launch options under Games > Hidden Source > Right-Click > Launch Options
    Last edited by Paegus; 19th August 2013 at 13:44.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I thought all i needed was half-life 2, steam and the hidden source installed. Do I have to download that separately?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    328

    Default

    Yes I believe so.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    ok so where would i find that? because when i searched for it on google it said that source sdk 2006 is the engine that half-life 2 and CS:S run on already

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,495

    Default

    It's in the "tools" area of your steam library.


    "The enemy gate is down"

    The Hidden - Source
    Calibre Studios
    Developicus Videogameos (Dev Blog)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Ok thanks so much Virus and Ging

  8. #8

    Red face

    Hi, I'm having the same issue and I was wondering if you could tell me where I could access the tools section of my library, never really used mods like this through steam before :P

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    A large rock orbiting a larger ball of fire
    Posts
    217

    Default

    I have made a few screenshots to show where and how you can access your tools and install the required Source SDK engine.

    The Where: http://gyazo.com/631a0b543b93e276b0732928f5bbbb4f

    The How: http://gyazo.com/1a1f981682a477ec7fa51e6159bc4c77

    This is all done from starting at the Steam library.

    EDIT: To clarify in case you somehow are confused as to which engine is being pointed at (the arrow obscured it, my error)
    You will need to install Source SDK 2006
    Last edited by ado921; 2nd January 2013 at 16:17. Reason: I'm tired and made an error. Aren't we all at one point?
    Use the search function for questions-It really works!

  10. #10

    Default

    Thanks a bunch was really frustrated as to why this wouldnt work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •