PDA

View Full Version : Displacements Help



biohazard-uk
4th June 2008, 17:59
I've only just set up hammer to make maps for hidden, and i've noticed when testing maps that prop_physics fall through displacements...can anyone help tell me how to get displacements working? D:

Phaedrus
4th June 2008, 18:04
add -novirtualmesh to your bsp command.

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q235/Chinatim/novirtualmesh.jpg

biohazard-uk
4th June 2008, 21:33
Ok its fixed, thanks ^^

Phaedrus
4th June 2008, 21:40
You are welcome. I don't really understand why this isn't in there by default. Perhaps it is more optimized if you only use displacements for decoration, such as the ivy hanging around the highrise fountain.

Ging
4th June 2008, 21:53
It's something about the use of old school tools - I can't remember the exact reason, but it was something about ep1 compilation tools doing things slightly differently, in theory, switching to 215 should've fixed it, but you never know!

Paegus
4th June 2008, 23:02
actually the opposite occurred. 215 expects something that maps compiled with the older vbsp don't have. they work fine on the older binary.

Ging
5th June 2008, 00:53
Ahh, I do indeed recall that now... I was close enough! :D

biohazard-uk
5th June 2008, 12:23
Will this problem be fixed in b5? :D

Ging
5th June 2008, 15:18
Will this problem be fixed in b5? :D

erm, possibly...

but b5 is on a different appid, which brings with it different tool versions.