PDA

View Full Version : Bust out your 3d glasses, kids!



YaRa
21st April 2008, 15:52
Cause it's time for Hidden in 3D!

http://img220.imagevenue.com/loc519/th_89495_hidden-3d_122_519lo.JPG (http://img220.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=89495_hidden-3d_122_519lo.JPG)

Get the driver at iz3d.com and in Config.xml change NSMode from 5 to 1 (b/w), 2 (standard) or 6 (optimized anaglyph)!

It's pretty fun, to say the least.

Good settings for me were

Convergence close to 0.
Separation between 50 and 70.

Cheesey
21st April 2008, 18:05
LOL! And do you see 617 better now?

YaRa
21st April 2008, 18:45
Worse, actually. :D
But it's fun.

Radio Controlled
21st April 2008, 19:43
do i need the monitor for it?

Paegus
21st April 2008, 20:39
apparently...

so fail.

YaRa
21st April 2008, 21:41
No you don't. :p

It's red/cyan anaglyph, as can be seen in the screenshot.
All it does is intercept Direct3D on a low level and render the same twice, from 2 different positions, and slap a color filter on each one. :)

You need red/cyan glasses for <1$, NOT the monitor. :)

iz3d is currently the only 3d driver that works with recent graphics cards, both ATI and NV.

nVidia's driver is Vista only and their old driver only worked only up to Geforce 7 and of course not for ATI.

Zabiela
21st April 2008, 22:03
Funny, I was actually thinking of trying to find some glasses as I saw the feature is built into trackmania.

Paegus
21st April 2008, 22:40
hmm well it gave me a "cannot find iz3d monitor" error and all the manuals say you need a monitor that supports dual inputs.

or do they mean dual link?

YaRa
21st April 2008, 23:05
hmm well it gave me a "cannot find iz3d monitor" error and all the manuals say you need a monitor that supports dual inputs.

or do they mean dual link?Ignore the error. All you have to do is go into the config.xml and change NSMode from 5 to 2. Then you get anaglyph and everything's fine. :)
They mean dual input, as in, the iz3d monitor consists of 2 LCDs, and each one needs a separate signal. But the driver includes full anaglyph anyway.

-SM-SUCKER
21st April 2008, 23:11
Maybe you need a monitor with a very high refresh rate because it has to display twice as many pictures as normal.

YaRa
21st April 2008, 23:31
Maybe you need a monitor with a very high refresh rate because it has to display twice as many pictures as normal.No. :) That would be LCD shutter glasses which is yet again different from simple anaglyph.

Paegus
21st April 2008, 23:38
it should work on a normal monitor as its using the red/blue glasses offset image instead of the polarized glasses flicker method. should run at a normal refresh rate as it's displaying both images simultaneously instead of jumping back and forth between the 2.


Ignore the error. All you have to do is go into the config.xml and change NSMode from 5 to 2. Then you get anaglyph and everything's fine. :)
They mean dual input, as in, the iz3d monitor consists of 2 LCDs, and each one needs a separate signal. But the driver includes full anaglyph anyway.

http://img519.imageshack.us/img519/239/threedeeob6.png (http://imageshack.us)

no joy.

YaRa
22nd April 2008, 00:00
Hm, ii can load the driver no problem and never even thought of buyin that thingg

Genre
22nd April 2008, 02:08
These 3d things never work for me, with or without the glasses, even as a kid the books never seemed to work. Maybe I'm just crazy.

Word.
25th April 2008, 22:13
That is funny, I will have to try that out.