PDA

View Full Version : increasing Hidden aggressiveness

ftobin
16th August 2007, 13:39
I just started playing The Hidden a few weeks ago, and one thing stuck out on me while playing as IRIS -- the game can get very slow waiting for The Hidden to make his appearance on a map. The round timers tend to be long, around 4-5 minutes, and there is little incentive for Hidden to be more aggressive, making the game lull for IRIS, as there is to do as IRIS when the Hidden is taking his time.

The game would have more appeal to play as IRIS and be faster-paced if there was incentive for the Hidden to attack more frequently. One idea is to have a timer on the Hidden so that he has to make kills more frequently. This timer could eat away at his life or his ability to remain cloaked. Of course, concerns about IRIS just running away all the time might exist -- there should be incentive for aggressiveness on their part as well. Running away tends to hurt IRIS members due to game mechanics anyways.

A more interesting option would be to give the IRIS team something to do during lull moments. I would appreciate others' suggestions for this.

Someone briefly mentioned something similar to my idea in a previous thread, but I want it to to be the focus of a discussion (http://forum.hidden-source.com/showthread.php?t=8627)

Daedalus
16th August 2007, 14:04
4-5 minutes is a good time for a full server. I personally run out of time playing hidden and trying to phys IRIS on a 4 min timer. But I can see what you mean with the hidden camping/not doing anything getting the IRIS bored. There's nothing that can be done about that imo, there will always be newbies in a game. :P

lcpuche
16th August 2007, 14:40
how about when the hidden has a buddy and he kill you at the beginning of the round, and lets the time run out, isn't that irritating.

Boat Builder
16th August 2007, 15:42
If the hidden isn't making any appearances, go and find him. :)