PDA

View Full Version : Texture glitches.. again



scratch
12th January 2007, 20:01
Perhaps some of you remember this picture i posted in the hdn_highwaters thread:

http://img224.imageshack.us/img224/3922/hdnhighwaterspm0004ky5.th.jpg (http://img224.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hdnhighwaterspm0004ky5.jpg)

As you can clearly see there are some strange graphics glitches, possibly related to the envmap (that's an original HL2 texture). I was able to solve the issue there, but there's still another location with the same glitch on highwaters:

http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/3364/glitchuj2.th.jpg (http://img72.imageshack.us/my.php?image=glitchuj2.jpg)

Anyway, i have the same issue on my new map and i really don't believe that this is a coincidence. So, just some questions so i can pin down this problem eventually:

- Mappers: Do you experience this problem with strange graphics glitches on textures regularly?

- Players: Did you notice a similar graphics glitch as seen on the second picture (the wall behind the machine) on hdn_highwaters?


In the end it could just be a drivers problem, but before i change anything here i need you to answer these two questions. Thanks for your help!

Zabiela
12th January 2007, 20:35
The second pic looks like the cubemap works but on that wall theres one of those odd line-things. I dont know what to call them, but they look like a group of superthin lines converging to one spot, usually the corner of a brush, and are more or less visible depending on the angle you look at it from. I see them in all the HS maps, and learned to ignore them.

Paegus
12th January 2007, 21:50
the triangle-reflection happens on b5 sewers as well. in the corner of the long tunnel leading away from the generator room...

scratch
13th January 2007, 02:16
Oh, never noticed this on other maps. Good to know that it's not an issue on my end, i'll try this on vanilla HL2 and see if it makes a difference.

[Edit]
Same on HL2 DM. I'll update my gfx drivers tomorrow, perhaps that'll fix it.

scratch
13th January 2007, 17:12
Gfx drivers updated, no change. Have another glitch screen though:

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/7909/glitch02pq7.th.jpg (http://img413.imageshack.us/my.php?image=glitch02pq7.jpg)

Slanted surface, just keeps getting better. :(

[Edit]
Oh i forgot: God damn f*** sh*t why can't this work properly!

Demented
14th January 2007, 05:34
The only idea I can come up with is to play around with func_details in the area. Though I doubt that's something you haven't tried repeatedly.

Dr.SharK
14th January 2007, 05:39
If i were you, i'd go ask on www.Hl2world.ocm, in their mapping forum. You'll get some good help there.

,-Dr.SharK

Zabiela
14th January 2007, 06:07
The ghost of zorro is obviously in your lighting :cool:

Boxy
14th January 2007, 09:14
Certain textures 'expose' the lines, as has been mentioned of the water in Sewers (fixed now btw). The only way I know of trying to fix it is to either use a different texture OR use the vertex tool to reshape your brush, therefore redefining the way it gets split up in compile (which may or may not fix it). I was marginally less than helpful there tbh.

Handsome
14th January 2007, 09:26
Maybe your Card is overheating ? Is it O/C-ed ?

scratch
14th January 2007, 16:31
Oh well. I found the problem. It's nothing what i've guessed so far - it's just brushes obscuring each other (light & shadow) in certain angles. It doesn't even need to be complicated architecture:

http://img127.imageshack.us/img127/7285/glitchexampleqv1.th.jpg (http://img127.imageshack.us/my.php?image=glitchexampleqv1.jpg)

See the slanted brushes? Those have the very annoying texture glitch. When i remove the two brushes on the ceiling which are supposed to be ventilation shafts, the glitches on the slanted brushes disappear. Meh.

Paegus
14th January 2007, 22:22
so the orange ones bugger up the... umm... wheat coloured wall ones?

does it make a difference if they're squared off instead?

scratch
15th January 2007, 00:16
I've already applied an architectural workaround (the slanted brushes don't go up to the ceiling anymore but right beneath the vent shafts, then they go straight up to the ceiling), seems to work now. Really gotta be careful what i build. :o