PDA

View Full Version : PROBLEMS with latest NVIDIA Drivers 91.31



little_blue
9th July 2006, 10:03
hi,
I just registered on this board, to show the problems/bugs/whatever that occured after i installed the latest official NVIDIA Drivers:
ForceWare 6.14.10.91.31 (Windows XP, WHQL)
I'm running a GeForce 6800 Ultra and actiated the HL2.exe Profil from the NVIDIA Control Panel.

more than words:
http://www.directupload.net/images/060709/temp/H352KQoP.jpg (http://www.directupload.net/show/d/753/H352KQoP.jpg)

http://www.directupload.net/images/060709/temp/tVD97Z37.jpg (http://www.directupload.net/show/d/753/tVD97Z37.jpg)

http://www.directupload.net/images/060709/temp/Tgy43BoZ.jpg (http://www.directupload.net/show/d/753/Tgy43BoZ.jpg)

http://www.directupload.net/images/060709/temp/V7ONBED7.jpg (http://www.directupload.net/show/d/753/V7ONBED7.jpg)

http://www.directupload.net/images/060709/temp/Du8QNX5O.jpg (http://www.directupload.net/show/d/753/Du8QNX5O.jpg)

http://www.directupload.net/images/060709/temp/Cu3AQRF8.jpg (http://www.directupload.net/show/d/753/Cu3AQRF8.jpg)

http://www.directupload.net/images/060709/temp/TLtUI5Cd.jpg (http://www.directupload.net/show/d/753/TLtUI5Cd.jpg)

http://www.directupload.net/images/060709/temp/9z3TXMwM.jpg (http://www.directupload.net/show/d/753/9z3TXMwM.jpg)

hiddens skin is very milky and well visible, even if he stops moving (screenshots will follow)

if u get hit by less lethal or a grenade my screen freezes for the duration of its dmg - afterwards ur mostly dead

Paegus
9th July 2006, 10:32
looks like you're running the game in DirectX 7 mode. as far as i'm aware the 6800U supports DX9 so make sure you don't have -dxlevel 70 in the game's Launch Options. and prehaps try adding -dxlevel 90 to said launch options, running the game once, quitting and removing it again.

you could also try adding -autoconfig instead and similarly running the game once then removing it.

http://support.steampowered.com/cgi-bin/steampowered.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?... (http://support.steampowered.com/cgi-bin/steampowered.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=242&p_created=1095476857&p_sid=pDRzr4ci&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9NzUmcF9wcm9kcz0wJnBfY2F0cz0wJnBfcHY9JnB fY3Y9JnBfc2VhcmNoX3R5cGU9YW5zd2Vycy5zZWFyY2hfbmwmc F9wYWdlPTEmcF9zZWFyY2hfdGV4dD1sYXVuY2ggb3B0aW9ucw* *&p_li=&p_topview=1)

Ging
9th July 2006, 10:33
roll back your drivers and check if that fixes it.

little_blue
9th July 2006, 10:43
thx very much
dxlevel 90 fixed all my problems
everything looks much nicer now and even my fps increased a little bit

is dxlevel 90 the latest supported by my graphics card?

Paegus
9th July 2006, 13:19
well seeing as dxlevel 90 is pretty much the highest source goes (with the possible exception of 95 which i have no clue about since 90 supports full HDR and everything anyway) whether your card supports higher is immaterial really.

you can try -dxlevel 95 if you want but i doubt you'll see any difference. even if it is something to do with HDR, Hidden:Source doesn't support it so... yeah...

DeathToll_David
9th July 2006, 14:14
Yea something else that happens with these latest drivers is that when you launch the game it stretches the game across monitors even though I have no other monitor installed.

It's quite frustrating. I had to roll back the driver because I was unable to correct the problem.

I'll wait until the next driver release to see if it is fixed.