PDA

View Full Version : I cheat in spite of myself !



TheChat
22nd June 2006, 16:03
Hi there

I have to tell you about a big issue concerning beta 4a.

I just installed Half-life 2 on my computer, and The Hidden beta 4a. Then i launched a game, and i realized that i was able to see the hidden being in the IRIS team : the hidden has a black render, and not the shader that he should "wear".

Here's my hardware configuration : I'm running with a ATI Radeon 9200, and a 2 ghz intel processor. I think my graphic card drivers are updated, but not sure.

Hoping you will solve this problem, regards.

Phoenix_Bomb
22nd June 2006, 16:12
Not to be rude, but not only is this not a new issue, you have to be the one to fix it.

A few things...did you have beta 4 (not 4a) installed before you ran the game? If I'm not mistaken, the file for 4a is just an update and might cause these kinds of glitches without the full game being installed.

A Radeon 9200 is, if memory serves, only a 128 MB card. I'm not even sure that can support the correct dx version you need to get the correct hidden graphics. The issue might be that your graphics card is simply too weak for this game. Nevertheless, check for driver updates. Your processor speed, even if it were too low (which it isn't), wouldn't be the cause of this problem.

Maybe someone else can offer more insight, that's just what comes to mind.

TheChat
22nd June 2006, 16:41
I forgot to precise, i have in fact a mobility radeon 9200, for notebooks... and on the ATI website, there are no drivers for this chipset :/

I installed the beta 4a. I'll try about the direct X choices, you will be aware

Ging
22nd June 2006, 17:04
you have a radeon, therefore there are drivers for that chipset... grab the latest catalyst drivers and you'll be set.

TheChat
22nd June 2006, 18:44
This a radeon _mobility_, so the catalyst are not suitable for it. I tried to upgrade it through the website of my notebook's builder, but nothing's made for.

ezee
22nd June 2006, 18:50
You should look carefully...

https://support.ati.com/ics/support/KBAnswer.asp?questionID=3358

Dead Inside
22nd June 2006, 18:51
have you tried http://www.omegadrivers.net/ at all? they might have something that helps, third party grpahics card drivers sometimes offer support for older cards when the original gives up on them!

Lord Al
22nd June 2006, 19:12
http://www.driverheaven.net/patje/ this will convert the desktop drivers to mobility however your card is a direct X 7 card and will not properly run the hidden.

deltro
22nd June 2006, 23:43
I've had great luck with the mobility conversion drivers for my IGP340M on my laptop. Certainly worth a try if the official drivers don't do it for you. I've also had great luck with tweaking my laptop card's settings through Rad Linker.

TheChat
23rd June 2006, 23:11
Thank you for the Omega driver, it works !

mullen1200
24th June 2006, 01:23
are you serious, in saying that 128mb video cards are too old to support dx 9? I think thats a bit ridiculous IMO, but im no expert so i'll refrain from saying anymore...

128mb cards are by no means "ancient"

Phoenix_Bomb
24th June 2006, 05:24
I could be wrong in that respect. I suppose a recently manufactured 128 MB card would be more likely to, I just automatically thought the thing was old, which I have no reason to.

Demented
24th June 2006, 05:35
I've got a Radeon 9800 Pro with 128mb which does dx9 (but not dx9.5). Then there are the Geforce 2s with 128mb (I choked when I heard of it) which don't even support dx8.

Boxy
24th June 2006, 08:59
I've got a Radeon 9800 Pro with 128mb which does dx9 (but not dx9.5). Then there are the Geforce 2s with 128mb (I choked when I heard of it) which don't even support dx8.

What the hell is DX9.5!??

Dr.SharK
24th June 2006, 09:15
What the hell is DX9.5!??


It's new NASA technoligy *shutters* Now the secret has been ruined, like the fake moonlanding

Isolation
24th June 2006, 09:17
I'm guessing 9.0c is also called 9.5, given in Valve's recent "EP1" stats, it lists 9.0 and 9.5... but not 9.0c or, there has been a DX upgrade I'm completely unaware of...

Dr.SharK
24th June 2006, 09:23
I'm guessing 9.0c is also called 9.5, given in Valve's recent "EP1" stats, it lists 9.0 and 9.5... but not 9.0c or, there has been a DX upgrade I'm completely unaware of...


Prolly. But that would make 9.0a and b 9.2 and 9.4 ?

Also, King-Kong OWNED! (PJ's version)

Boxy
24th June 2006, 10:17
I'm guessing 9.0c is also called 9.5, given in Valve's recent "EP1" stats, it lists 9.0 and 9.5... but not 9.0c or, there has been a DX upgrade I'm completely unaware of...

If you mean this stats page (http://www.steampowered.com/stats/ep1/) I see no DX9.5. The only thing I could think of for this DX9.5 is either some SM3.0 path or a halfway house between DX9 and DX10 that only devs get to play with. Thats if it even exists, which I dont think it does...

Demented
24th June 2006, 10:18
For some reason, calling it dx9.1 just wasn't good enough for them, so they had to use dx9.0c. But VAlve didn't like that, so what did they do? dx9.5!

Or maybe Valve does have access to secret NASA technlogoy.

Whatever the story is, you can be certain a Radeon 9800 does not support dx9.5.

Edit:
Oh neat, they updated the stats page to fix the dx9.5 thingy. Now it's just "dx9.0 SM3". Hmm. Spooky. They added "Other" as well, as I don't recall it being there before. And now the stat images have rollover goodies. Neat.

Seems like people die a lot in Episode 1. Buncha pansies.

Ging
24th June 2006, 10:46
If you mean this stats page (http://www.steampowered.com/stats/ep1/) I see no DX9.5. The only thing I could think of for this DX9.5 is either some SM3.0 path or a halfway house between DX9 and DX10 that only devs get to play with. Thats if it even exists, which I dont think it does...

They've changed it since last night - where it said DX9.5 rather than DX9.0 SM3...