PDA

View Full Version : Hammer Configuration for creating Hidden maps



MiniAnteSWE
4th November 2005, 21:46
Well, i really want to start making maps for Hidden Source but i dont know how to configurate hammer. Can someone help me with this ? :confused:
I have pressed Tools > Options and Game Configurations. I have already added a Configuration named Hidden B2a. And now comes the part where i need help.

If there is a " ? " after a written sentance it means that i'm not sure or don't know if it's right. Well here it comes :)

Game Data Files : SourceMods\hidden\bin\hidden.fgd ?
Texture Format : Materials HL 2 ?
Map Type : HL 2 ?
Default Point Entity class : info_marine_spawn
Default Solid Entity class : func_detail
Default texture scale : 0.25 ?
Default lightmap scale : 16 ?
Cordon texture : tools\toolsskybox ?
Game Executable : Sourcemods\hidden ?
Game Directory : Sourcemods\hidden
Hammer Map Directory : [MY EMAIL]\sourcesdk_content\Hidden\mapsrc

Thats it. Please Help. If something is wrong somewhere like the Game Executable is wrong just copy the list and correct it for me please ;)

Evil-Fishy
4th November 2005, 22:05
I find you highly arousing..

MiniAnteSWE
4th November 2005, 22:07
And what do you mean by that ? :)
Im from sweden so i'm not so good at english.

MiniAnteSWE
4th November 2005, 22:48
Didn't work :(

MiniAnteSWE
4th November 2005, 22:54
yup,

Night Raider
5th November 2005, 02:23
Revised Version: 2

Open up Hammer. Go to Tools->Options

In configuration, press Edit. Make a new Game configuration and call it Hidden-Source or whatever you want it to be.

In Game Data files, make sure both halflife2.fgd and hidden.fgd are mounted. You can find the hidden.fgd in SteamApps\SourceMods\hidden\bin

Now, use this image to fill out the rest.
http://img105.imageshack.us/img105/8084/nuevoimagendemapadebits2hq.th.png (http://img105.imageshack.us/my.php?image=nuevoimagendemapadebits2hq.png)


Now, in the Hammer configuration, click a tab named Build Programs. Use this image to fill it up.

http://img105.imageshack.us/img105/545/nuevoimagendemapadebits29rq.th.png (http://img105.imageshack.us/my.php?image=nuevoimagendemapadebits29rq.png)

Hidden-Source should appear in the SDK. You should now be able tomap for the mod.

Thanks to Ging for pointing out the hl2.exe problem
Thanks to MiniAnteSWE for helping me make the guide.
Thanks to ImageShack for Free Image Hosting (http://imageshack.us)

iMMuNiTy
5th November 2005, 15:28
Sticky anyone?

Ging
5th November 2005, 16:52
You shouldn't need to copy the hl2.exe anywhere - if you do have to, you aren't configuring hammer correctly...

I'm gonna unsticky this until it's correct...

Night Raider
5th November 2005, 16:57
Enlighten me. I just did the guide since no one else wanted to post. Also, MiniAnteSWE and I talked through MSN until we managed to fix his Hammer. I it's incorrect, then I may suggest that you guys make a sticky for the Hammer configuration, so new people don't have to make new threads for it!

Demented
5th November 2005, 19:07
Edit: Completely irrelevant post. Well, not completely, but I hate OT posts in stickies. =/
Never did configure that part of my hammer config anyway... it's got to do with turning the game after you've Run Map, which I always do manually.

Ging
6th November 2005, 00:00
Enlighten me. I just did the guide since no one else wanted to post. Also, MiniAnteSWE and I talked through MSN until we managed to fix his Hammer. I it's incorrect, then I may suggest that you guys make a sticky for the Hammer configuration, so new people don't have to make new threads for it!

I'd think it's fairly obvious to point hammer to where your hl2.exe actually is, rather than moving the hl2.exe, it's like moving the mountain to you, rather than travelling to it...

Faron
6th November 2005, 12:37
It's like moving the mountain to you, rather than travelling to it...

Lol...im gona remember that one. ;)

Night Raider
6th November 2005, 13:49
I'd think it's fairly obvious to point hammer to where your hl2.exe actually is, rather than moving the hl2.exe, it's like moving the mountain to you, rather than travelling to it...
:D Well what can I say, stick with it if it works.

Anyways, just updated the guide.

BolteR
15th April 2006, 16:23
im really stuck, i just did what i thought was right... but this comes up...

http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/7859/hammerproblem17qy.jpg

can anyone help...
i cant get that hammer config up either... :(

Cyborg
15th April 2006, 18:35
go to utilities on the sdk menus and hit the "reset game configurations" button.

start over again.

Chas0r
15th April 2006, 22:07
This question came up for b2 - no here it comes again: Will there be any major changes to maps from b2 to b3 ?
And what are those .ain files linked to the map ?

Ging
15th April 2006, 22:54
This question has come up before, about changes from B2 to B3, the answer is still the same - there's no difference :p

Cyborg
15th April 2006, 23:28
.ain files are not nessicary. they are for the bots. ignore them, return to user, denied.

Chas0r
16th April 2006, 01:19
Ok, i didn't search long enough - how often do i need to say 'sorry' ;) ?
..Still I get some strange results, look how the hidden dies on any map>
http://img127.imageshack.us/img127/5712/1sttest00028ff.th.jpg (http://img127.imageshack.us/img127/5712/1sttest00028ff.jpg)

Ging
16th April 2006, 01:37
That's a B3 issue - check the hiddenites forum.

Dark Soul
16th April 2006, 05:27
Stupid hiddenites,with there uber cool B3 issue. '-'_'-'

BolteR
16th April 2006, 11:13
go to utilities on the sdk menus and hit the "reset game configurations" button.

start over again.

lol thanks mate. :D

2.F.4.U.
22nd April 2006, 22:44
uhm, the list at the beginning of the thread, is it correct? i think these lines with an ? at the end are not confirmed.

are there any things i have to make sure before starting the VHE? i start it in the SOURCE SDK. is it relevant, which game i select? how to add hidden:source? (if it is necessary)

ty

Cyborg
22nd April 2006, 22:52
to map in the hidden you must add hidden entities, textures, models, etc...


the list in the beginning is what you must follow. perhaps you should of actaully paid attention when you read through it.

http://forum.hidden-source.com/showpost.php?p=34308&postcount=6


as for the cool plamsa hidden b3 issue..... mwahahhaha. its fixed already.


:edit:

as for it all being correct... that is the point of a sticky, official, correct information.

Night Raider
22nd April 2006, 23:18
uhm, the list at the beginning of the thread, is it correct? i think these lines with an ? at the end are not confirmed.


Are you doubting my 1337 Hammer skillz? :D

As Cyborg pointed out, the information is all correct. If it doesn't work, it might be becaues of typos or because you simply aren't following the instructions.

2.F.4.U.
23rd April 2006, 00:58
no... i trust you :D but the ? is still ending the line :P



yeah, i mapped for cs 1.6 ... ok source is another category, but i think the configuration is equal or almost equal ...

but

to map in the hidden you must add hidden entities, textures, models, etc...

uhm, i do it by adding the *.fdg file, right? it includes the entities. by configuring the VHE i select the textures etc...

but my primary question was:
what game should i select in the SOURCE SDK. u no what i mean? should i post an screen? i hope u no it :)
so, i dont think that its relevant for the vhe, but it should do any consequences...

i duno :D

Night Raider
23rd April 2006, 01:12
Any game. You'll make a category for H-S itself if you follow my guide.

2.F.4.U.
23rd April 2006, 10:36
ah, ok ... thats it. i thought it might have any consequences for the VHE.

thx. i think i will try making a map.

ThunderDan
23rd April 2006, 10:59
By the way - you'll want to ignore the very first post as its hogwash - and skip to post number 6. With the pretty pictures. Those are the correct settings. If the stuff with ?'s next to them don't work it's because they wont.

Just wanted to clarify as I think my two buddies here misunderstood what you were asking.

nex
26th April 2006, 16:30
I created a hidden profile with everything filled out like in the first post, and after applying I restarted Hammer but now it says "No game configerations to run with" when I try and launch it. There's also no games in the "Curent Game" scroll-box in the SDK menu, and I'm sure there were some before.

Anyone know what the problem might be?

Night Raider
26th April 2006, 20:17
I created a hidden profile with everything filled out like in the first post,
That's probably the problem. Use THIS (http://forum.hidden-source.com/showpost.php?p=34308&postcount=6) post to fill out the game configurations.

nex
26th April 2006, 20:45
aha, that did the trick, ta.

InsaneAction
27th April 2006, 17:18
Could someone point me in the right direction as to learn how to "map"......

Ive had ideas for maps going on 5 years now ever scence i started playing the HL games. Just never knew where to get the Software to do so.....

ThunderDan
27th April 2006, 21:10
The software is built into steam.

In steam click the view menu then tools. You should be able to click on and install the Source SDK from there.

Then the instructions from the 6th post in this thread - not the 1st - and you should be able to get started.

For more info on making maps in general check out. http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Category:Level_Design

M_C
27th April 2006, 23:42
I installed hammer but I have no idea where to start or what demensions to use for anything...is there a tutorial or a how to get started website deal or anything? I don't think I'll want to make real maps, like iso's but it'd be nice to know how it's done. I'd be happy with a basic room with doors/windows/floors/etc. ;)

CheZDa
27th April 2006, 23:58
http://www.interlopers.net/index.php?page=hl2.htm

I suggest you get started here http://forum.interlopers.net/viewtopic.php?t=1783

Broku
14th June 2006, 23:39
>_<!
I have a problem!
Whenever I choose the hidden.fgd to put into the config my Hammer explodes!
It just stops working and it says "not responding".

EDIT: Got it to work finally. I entered everything else then did the .fgd part and it worked fin. I am going to map now. =D

butterқnife
30th August 2006, 01:26
>_<!
I have a problem!
Whenever I choose the hidden.fgd to put into the config my Hammer explodes!


I am getting the same thing. I have successfully configured Hammer before and was able to get in and play around a little bit. But the next time I fired it up, my configuration was gone (hidden profile existed, but with empty fields). Now for the life of me I can't get it to add any .fgd files without freezing.

Also, with this newer version of hammer, what do I need to set as the RMF directory and CSG executable?

Thanks.

butterқnife
1st September 2006, 03:26
Well I finally found the magic combination. I had to delete my Hidden profile in Hammer, then reset game configurations in the SDK, then recreate the profile for hidden in hammer, then restart hammer and add the FGDs. It doesn't explode anymore!

Twiggeh
2nd February 2007, 11:24
I've decided to pick mapping up again, but i havent really mapped since the source engine came around.. and VHE have changed since i used it (was most active when it was still called WorldCraft).

So, can anybody please tell me how i import models into the game? like wrecked cars, fences etc etc..

Paegus
2nd February 2007, 12:50
they are prop_static, dynamic and physics entities

Twiggeh
2nd February 2007, 21:59
they are prop_static, dynamic and physics entities

thanks! ...hm, i dont seem do have any models loaded.. how/where do i load them?

Paegus
2nd February 2007, 23:00
thanks! ...hm, i dont seem do have any models loaded.. how/where do i load them?

they should be loaded through the hl2 content... which you'll get with any source based game. add the entity, select it and pick the world-model entry to get the model browser... pick what you want.

and when in doubt: press F1 (http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/SDK_Docs)

Twiggeh
3rd February 2007, 08:47
they should be loaded through the hl2 content... which you'll get with any source based game. add the entity, select it and pick the world-model entry to get the model browser... pick what you want.

and when in doubt: press F1 (http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/SDK_Docs)

found it now! did that exact thing last time too, but then there wasnt a single model to choose from :S
but now im back on track

Sithun
28th March 2008, 14:19
Is the information provided in this thread still usable? Its been 3 years and a lot of crappy updates from valve/steam over these years past. Unfortunately i cant check with my own configuration, since im at work.

Isnt it time to either update the first post, or better yet; unsticky and create a new thread, then sticky that one?

Demented
28th March 2008, 22:16
Adding a mod in Hammer hasn't changed much. But now you'll be looking for certain things in the Source SDK Base (SDKB?) directory instead of HL2, or so it was.
/Slap Paegus into doing it.

salith
8th May 2008, 20:47
Okay, done all the settings as stated here;
http://forum.hidden-source.com/showpost.php?p=34308&postcount=6
but whichever halflife2.fgd I point to, I can't get anything to display in the "camera" window.
Done some messing about for other games and it all worked fine so I know it's not a hardware/driver problem or anything.
What is the current settings you need to map for Hidden?

Paegus
8th May 2008, 22:07
...
/Slap Paegus into doing it.

hmm what? hello...


oh i mean my settings are:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v215/paegus/gameconfig.png (http://www.photobucket.com)
...and...
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v215/paegus/buildprogs.png (http://www.photobucket.com)

when you run the SDK pick Engine Version: Episode 1 btw...

as for getting something in the camera view.. err... zoom out?

salith
8th May 2008, 23:37
Thanks for the settings. All working fine except for the camera view. Have reset defaults in Source SDK to see if that solved it but it doesn't :(

Just tried in HL2DM and the 3D view doesn't do anything there too... bloody odd since Orange Box is fine.

salith
8th May 2008, 23:44
AHA!!!
Centered 3D view on selection got it into the right place to see it.
Guess the default view for 3D is wayyyyyy off centre! =D

Paegus
9th May 2008, 06:43
depends on the map i think. if it was a pre-existing one it may be gone wonky. you should be able to click and drag in one of the orthographical(?) windows to place the camera an angle manually

salith
9th May 2008, 14:21
Thanks for the assist. This was on both decompiled maps as well as a fresh new map, so haven't a clue why it glitched like that (and since it happens with HL2DM, I'm guessing it's an engine glitch for Ep1 stuff).

cjdelta04
12th May 2008, 03:16
Hey do you guys think you could help me figure out why i cant see the textures wen i make maps? I can see the perimeter wireframes of a created object but i cant see their textures.

Genre
12th May 2008, 03:34
Right click your camera view and select 3d Textured, or something to that effect.

WNxGrievous
9th August 2008, 22:31
thanks for posting this, this will help me out a great deal

MindMuncher
13th September 2009, 18:29
How do I mount the files you said I need to mount... I've never mapped for a mod, so I don't know how.

Conroy
13th September 2009, 19:09
i think if you look for a general introduction to hammer you should search for a special tutorial.

If you want to know how to configure the editor for hidden you should check paegusī post (http://www.forum.hidden-source.com/showpost.php?p=134978&postcount=48) or this tutorial made by biohazard (http://www.pyrogenic.totalwebdata.com/Beginner_Tutorials.php?cat=Hammer&tut=Intro_Hidden)

Shodan
12th October 2009, 09:03
Hello everybody

I need some assistance to properly configure Hammer to build Hidden maps. I followed both the Paegus and Night Raider tutorials: I can see entities, textures and such and the map builds correctly... but how do I execute it? Do I have to make a custom Hidden shortcut that runs my custom map (like I did before Left 4 Dead Authoring Tools came out)?

Setting Night Raider configuration gives me an error.
Setting Paegus configuration doesn't even start the game.

What am I doing wrong?

biohazard-uk
12th October 2009, 09:32
http://img185.imageshack.us/img185/6878/hammersetup.jpg

Work's for me...

Tried going to Hidden main menu and clicking create server, then choosing your map?

I had a tutorial on setting up hammer for Hidden, unfortunately website's going to be down for a bit...

Paegus
12th October 2009, 11:23
could try setting the game executable to steam.exe and then add the -applaunch junk to the launch command line

though it should load hl2 happily enough

Gonzo
14th August 2010, 21:28
Hey, i need some help.

I followed the tutorials but if i start the Hammer i cant see enything.
which Engine Version shall i choose?
- I choose 2009 is that right?

http://pansen.files.wordpress.com/2010/08/hidden00.jpg

This is my configuration...
http://pansen.files.wordpress.com/2010/08/hidden01.jpg


thx
Gonzo

Genre
14th August 2010, 22:04
Why is your Game Executable Steam.exe instead of hl2.exe?

Conroy
14th August 2010, 22:44
I choose 2009 is that right?

Hidden runs on the 2006 engine

Gonzo
14th August 2010, 23:34
Thx to Genre & Conroy it works!!!
Engine Version: 2006

DAMIEN
30th December 2010, 00:17
I know how it must be boring helping newguys to set up hammer over and over again... but!
Ive been mapping for Hidden quite alot, but now all suddenly I got this Error messege.

http://i883.photobucket.com/albums/ac36/vonsmiley/3.jpg

This is my setup on hammer at the moment, I dont know whats gone wrong!

http://i883.photobucket.com/albums/ac36/vonsmiley/2.jpghttp://i883.photobucket.com/albums/ac36/vonsmiley/1.jpg

I've been trying all kinds of diff ways to make it work but... no success!
So, i would love some help!

/Thanks!

Conroy
30th December 2010, 06:52
hm, after some searching it seems that its caused by the engine update for HL2 this year.

Probably best if you try to reset (all) the sdk configurations or maybe even reinstall it if necessary. Then try to readd the hidden settings.

Nuutin3
2nd February 2011, 21:12
Hey guys, if anyone still sees this message...
I need someone's advice to configure hammer for hidden because im starting makin maps
.
I need a full tutorial to configure hammer for hidden, i have been trying like 2-3 hours, with no results. And those images posted by Night Raider, seems to be deleted, so i cant use them in my problem. Id appreciate your aid a million

Thanks
-N

(Oh, please excuse me for my bad english.)

Niper
11th March 2011, 02:24
hold on dude, most people on here are dead but i still check for life now and then. i have hammer setup for it, let me get you a little tutorial thing going.:D

Niper
16th April 2011, 01:26
ok, just take their info and basically copy it into hammer. what you'll do is start it up for 2006 engine, and go to tools, then options. and then copy the pictures they have up, worked for me. should for you.

charlie_murphy
1st September 2012, 04:44
I ended up using source 2009
http://i.imgur.com/MY7iJ.png

Xufe
12th September 2012, 17:36
Not new to hidden, playing it for a few years and I'm an expierenced modder for source ( 1.3k hours).
Is there somewhere an FULL instruction on the how to set up hammer for hidden?
What engine should I use etc etc; If the devs would put up a detaield description it would help all the mappers for hidden.

Are there some limits that exist solely in hidden?

What should be thoguht when making a hidden map, to keep the style to what the devs initially wanted.

Sparks
12th September 2012, 17:42
What should be thoguht when making a hidden map, to keep the style to what the devs initially wanted.

You can choose your style . I've seen hidden maps from Supermario ridiculous shit to amazing scary maps like hdn_morgue and hdn_psychiatry.
As for the style the devs initially wanted, I suppose they'd expect you to keep it scary and dark enough.

Xufe
13th September 2012, 10:33
Ok thanks for that answer:

The images for setting up the config for SDK have been deleted; can someone repost them?

Ging
13th September 2012, 10:45
It should be fairly straight forward? Just point hammer to the right exe files and the fgd - away you go.

It's Source Engine 2006 you guys want for B4.

Xufe
13th September 2012, 10:56
What are the console commands required to test Hidden maps alone?

Additionally why does Hidden run on SDK 06; 07/09 would be better?
Or is it no problem to just set up everything for 09/07 ?

biohazard-uk
13th September 2012, 16:47
Additionally why does Hidden run on SDK 06; 07/09 would be better?
Or is it no problem to just set up everything for 09/07 ?



It's Source Engine 2006 you guys want for B4.

Next release should be on a later version, which one though, I have no idea...




What are the console commands required to test Hidden maps alone?


Can add a few bots to start a round using "sv_cheats 1" and then "bot_add".

Ging
14th September 2012, 15:56
Additionally why does Hidden run on SDK 06; 07/09 would be better?
Or is it no problem to just set up everything for 09/07 ?

Because 07/09 weren't available when B4 came out and we've not yet released the version that does run in a newer version.

Xufe
14th September 2012, 15:56
Would it be possible to make Hidden work with the Valve batch compile tool ? It far better than the inbuilt hammer compiler.

*spoil* testrun of first hidden map successfull

Spl Eagles
2nd October 2012, 01:26
I've tried for a few days now to get Hammer configured for Hidden. I've tried it on every version of the SDK, but it never properly works (The grid lines never showed up, so I couldn't map anything). The closest I got was using the 2006 version. Here, I actually was able to see grid lines and create brushes, but then nothing showed up in the 3D camera view. Is this a problem with Hammer or the configuration of Hidden?

I guess my main question is this: Would anybody be willing to upload a quick tutorial or guide on how to get Hidden to work with Hammer, because I can't seem to figure it out to save my life.

TooMuchStarbucks
2nd October 2012, 01:39
You actually did set everything up. However there is one thing inherently wrong, that you have to deal with. The 3D Views camera isn't by default in the middle of the world. It's at it's origins I think. To fix this, you just have to make an object in the center of the world (Or select one you already made), go to "View" in the top bar, and hit "Center 3D views to object" or something along those lines.

You have to do this everytime, which sucks frankly. They should really update Hidden for Source 2009 or something xD.

garthbartin
13th October 2012, 22:07
So I followed the information found in these pictures:
794
793
And hammer launches up alright and the hidden textures appear to have made it in to hammer editor. However, the hidden entity set does not and I'm left with the HL2DM entity set and default point entity. What's going wrong?

SamV522
20th October 2012, 09:17
Heres a quick text translation of the post above in case the pictures go missing again:

Game Configuration

Game Data Files:
$SteamDir\SteamApps\Sourcemods\Hidden\Bin\hidden.f gd
$SteamUserDir\SourceSDK\Bin\Ep1\Bin\halflife2.fgd

Default PointEntity class: info_marine_spawn
Default SolidEntity class: func_detail

Game Executable Directory: $SteamUserDir\half-life 2 deathmatch
Game Directory: $SteamDir\steamapps\sourcemods\hidden
Hammer VMF Directory: $SteamUserDir\sourcesdk_content\hidden\maps


Build Programs:

Game Executable: $SteamUserDir\half-life 2 deathmatch\hl2.exe
BSP Executable: $SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\vbsp.exe
VIS Executable: $SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\vvis.exe
RAD Executable: $SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\vrad.exe

Compiled Maps Directory:
$SteamDir\Steamapps\Sourcemods\hidden\maps


Also note that you'll need to launch Hammer under the Source Engine 2006.

Xufe
18th November 2012, 15:40
Have following problem concerning compiling:

Valve batch compile tool can'T find the game executables nor game info textes.
hammer compiler writes an error: steam mount app filesystem 215,55,0xebafd54 failed with error 21: A different version of this FS is already in use.
What does this mean?

Ideas?

Cokemonkey11
21st May 2013, 13:06
Heres a quick text translation of the post above in case the pictures go missing again:

Game Configuration

Game Data Files:
$SteamDir\SteamApps\Sourcemods\Hidden\Bin\hidden.f gd
$SteamUserDir\SourceSDK\Bin\Ep1\Bin\halflife2.fgd

Default PointEntity class: info_marine_spawn
Default SolidEntity class: func_detail

Game Executable Directory: $SteamUserDir\half-life 2 deathmatch
Game Directory: $SteamDir\steamapps\sourcemods\hidden
Hammer VMF Directory: $SteamUserDir\sourcesdk_content\hidden\maps


Build Programs:

Game Executable: $SteamUserDir\half-life 2 deathmatch\hl2.exe
BSP Executable: $SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\vbsp.exe
VIS Executable: $SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\vvis.exe
RAD Executable: $SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\vrad.exe

Compiled Maps Directory:
$SteamDir\Steamapps\Sourcemods\hidden\maps


Also note that you'll need to launch Hammer under the Source Engine 2006.

Should Say:

Game Configuration:

Game Data Files:
$SteamDir\SteamApps\Sourcemods\Hidden\Bin\hidden.f gd
$SteamUserDir\SourceSDK\Bin\Ep1\Bin\halflife2.fgd

Default PointEntity class: info_marine_spawn
Default SolidEntity class: func_detail

Game Executable Directory: $SteamUserDir\half-life 2 deathmatch
Game Directory: $SteamDir\steamapps\sourcemods\hidden
Hammer VMF Directory: $SteamUserDir\sourcesdk_content\hidden\maps


Build Programs:

Game Executable: $SteamUserDir\half-life 2 deathmatch\hl2.exe
BSP Executable: $SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin\vbsp.exe
VIS Executable: $SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin\vvis.exe
RAD Executable: $SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin\vrad.exe

Compiled Maps Directory:
$SteamDir\Steamapps\Sourcemods\hidden\maps


Also note that you'll need to launch Hammer under the Source Engine 2006.

Then this guide is perfect.