PDA

View Full Version : Hidden Crash to Desktop Upon Launch

thydemented
8th June 2013, 21:22
Hey everyone, I have been playing Hidden for the past 2 months or so, and all of a sudden, starting on june 3 (my birthday, of all days XD), Hidden just crashed to desktop whenever I attempt to launch the game via steam. There are no error messages whatsoever, I see a flash of the HL2.exe in task manager, and a flash of the game itself opening up, but again, it is just a moment before it instantly closes itself.

I have SDK Source, SDK Source 2006, AND SDK source 2007 all working and verified. Yes, I have individually launched all of them and even went through some part of the video stress test in '06 and '07. The problem still persists. On top of this, I have tested the HL2 mod "No More Room in Hell", and it works perfectly fine.

I am running windows 7, 32 bit.
I know it isn't an OS problem ,because it has been running perfectly before this week.

I launched event viewer (noob at it, but I read this post HERE (http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2600555#3))

I cleared the log (ofc saved old stuff in case its one day required), and launched hidden several times, watching painfully as it kept insta-closing. The event logged showed no new activities under Windows Logs -> Application. (As seen HERE (http://gyazo.com/f15fac297a168d9e729c8dcee8dbf9fb))

On top of this, I have tried the suggestion most common throughout this forum of giving access to fastprox.dll + renaming it, etc etc (as it says in the thread HERE (http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1100021)).

Any and all help is much appreciated, however, please don't suggest reinstalling hidden/sdk source,'06,'07, for I have done each of those several times over, and am now at the point of frustration with this PC..

Thank you all<3.
~Thy.

Paegus
9th June 2013, 16:28