PDA

View Full Version : How do you start a dedicated server???

xXCOLEXx
21st March 2009, 13:14
Hi, this is my first time posting in the forums :)
well, i would like to start a dedicated server from my computer(no i will not share specs of it).
i have recently created a map, i think it looks pretty good, just need to add items in there for the hidden to throw at I.R.I.S members. i would like to have people try it out now though, see what they think of it. i could put it up for download i guess, but im worried if no one puts it up on their server.

Paegus
21st March 2009, 14:19
server guide is thatta way ^ in Server Operator forum.

Scuzzy
21st March 2009, 16:13
Hi, this is my first time posting in the forums :)
well, i would like to start a dedicated server from my computer(no i will not share specs of it).

Is that because the comptuer is super secret?

i have recently created a map, i think it looks pretty good, just need to add items in there for the hidden to throw at I.R.I.S members. i would like to have people try it out now though, see what they think of it. i could put it up for download i guess, but im worried if no one puts it up on their server.

If you don't want anyone to put it on their server, then by not allowing us to download it you have achived 100% success. If you want people to put it on their server, but fear rejection, then by not allowing us to download it you have achieved 100% failure.

You'll only learn courage by taking chances. Play it safe all your life and you'll live with "what if only I'd asked her out", "what if only I'd taken that job but I thought I wasn't good enough", "what if I'd let them download my map".

Scuzzy

Paegus
21st March 2009, 17:01
just make sure you append it with a suitable suffix... like hdn_mymap_a1, _b2, _rc3, etc so that the final release can just be hdn_mymap.

[TSAT]Flow
21st March 2009, 17:32