PDA

View Full Version : CCake likes you kick me...



vlees91
20th December 2008, 12:35
And again I got kicked repeatedly by the server for having a different vmt
I already have the real vmt since 6 days now again
or isn't this the real one?!

biohazard-uk
20th December 2008, 12:44
Mine is

Paegus
20th December 2008, 13:13
the file itself must be the original. you cannot simply edit it and then edit out the changes since that still produces a different CRC (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyclic_redundancy_check) result.

Wuped
20th December 2008, 13:15
Lol.

vlees91
20th December 2008, 13:15
hmmm. At first my post contained the file itself...
Some admin must have deleted it. So now noone can check if this is actually the real file...
but since that admin probably had a good reason to delete my file I won't repost it and just wait for that reason?!

well why isn't it possible (can't remember I even did that) to change a normal ASCII textfile and then change it back. the checksum should be the same?!

-SM-SUCKER
20th December 2008, 13:51
Posting info about which file is relevant might get you into trouble. Better change it...

Paegus
20th December 2008, 14:04
the contents of the files is 1 component. if the file itself has been altered in any way, like just re-saving it without making any alterations at all, it will have a different signature.

just copy the original back over it.

and stop posting the file or it's contents already.

vlees91
20th December 2008, 14:28
that's why i didn't repost the file again...

But so i will reinstall the mod again n again n again

Specht
20th December 2008, 14:49
that's why i didn't repost the file again...

But so i will reinstall the mod again n again n again

Or someone can e-mail you the file or something...

Paegus
20th December 2008, 15:06
just make a "Copy of..." any file you're going to screw with then you can rename it back and forth as you like. That's what I do.

vlees91
20th December 2008, 16:14
I'm downloading the setup again :D
and now I will save it instead of run it directly from a temporary directory :P

see you on some servers within some minutes :D

salith
20th December 2008, 16:25
I always zip up the original, just in case =D

-SM-SUCKER
20th December 2008, 19:04
just make a "Copy of..." any file you're going to screw with then you can rename it back and forth as you like. That's what I do.


I'm downloading the setup again :D
and now I will save it instead of run it directly from a temporary directory :P

see you on some servers within some minutes :D


I always zip up the original, just in case =D
Haxorzz ?

Paegus
20th December 2008, 20:08
i do it so i can get the original back without reinstalling if i break something...

/innocenté

of couse i also have the server's .zip floating around incase i forget.

vlees91
20th December 2008, 21:18
I won't deny that I it's not possibl to gain an advantage with changing other files than dll's or exe's but I don't call that real cheats and well: as I told I thought I restored the file to its original CONTENT but the CRC changes as Paegus told me
But now I have a complete copy of the materials directory

salith
21st December 2008, 09:07
I have only ever replaced the LAM from green to red, since it's a lot easier on my eyes :)

blak
21st December 2008, 10:38
I've got accidental backups in my dedicated server folder ^_^

i only ever use them when i screw up my HUD, i'm never going to achieve perfection ;(